Rita Ora Features in September’s GQ Issue!

It’s been a good few months for Rita Ora. She was signed by Jay-Z back in 2009, had two number 1 singles, performed on several stages and festivals and has opened for Coldplay on tour. GQ has made Rita Ora there main feature for there September issue and all eyes are on Rita. The 21 years old reveals all about her passion for music, being inspired by Beyonce, Rihanna and Gwen Stefani, what its like being famous and why she named her album after her surname.

Wearing a Marni jumpsuit and Dolce and Gabbana jewelery she graces the cover and explains why her album is called ‘Ora’. She explains ‘It’s my name but also ora in my language means time, and it took me so long to do this album. Like three years.’ Rita also explains how she got her big break. She says “I was singing in bars in London and eventually someone put me in touch with Jay-Z’s right-hand man, Jay Brown”.


She continues to explain “I sent him some music and he asked me to fly to New York. I was two weeks away from my 18th birthday but flew out there on my own”, “I was so nervous. But the good thing was that I didn’t know I was going to meet Jay-Z that night”. She exclusively tells GQ the best advice that Jay-Z gave her. ‘The best advice he gave me was, “Have you seen Chris Martin (Coldplay frontman) perform? You know it’s literally just him on a stage? And he just rocks it out,”. 

Earlier this year she scored a number 1 single with R.I.P ft. Tinie Tempah and a joint number 1 with DJ Fresh with Hot Right Now. She is also being included in Rolling Stones Women  Who Rock issue which is a battle between Rita and up-and-coming artist Karmin. The results from the Rolling Stones Women Who Rock competition will be released soon however you can vote for Rita by visiting the Rolling Stone website.

The September issue of GQ is on sale now.

What do you think? Leave a comment at the bottom of the page.

Leave a Reply

