REVIEW: Skins Fire – Part One

uktv-skins-effy

The highly anticipated return of the final ever series of Skins premiered tonight on E4 and I have to admit it wasn’t quite what I expected. Skins Fire Part One which sees the return of the legendary character Effy Stonem reveals her current life after we last left her and the gang in Bristol in Series 4. I have to be 100% percent and admit that in the beginning I did find it a bit dull. Being such a Skins fan I thought that they were going to open the episode with someone explosive or at least something eye catching. But no. What I got was Effy walking around London looking nothing but miserable. As the episode continues we see that Effy is working in a dead end stocks and shares job which I found quite confusing to be honest. I’ve been watching Effy since series 1 and if you know anything about Effy you that education wasn’t her forte so the fact that she now has a job in one of the most intellectual and brain-using industries confused me however I have to admit that I liked the fact that she was working in an office (even if it was just an assistant job).

Effy wasn’t just the only old character to resurface in this episode as Naomi (also from series 3 & 4 like Effy) returned to Skins as Effy’s room mate. Out of all the confusing elements to this episode and the story this confused me the most. Since when did Effy and Naomi become ‘so close’ that they end up being room mates? Not only that but when I was watching the episode I felt like the roles had changed. If I remember Naomi from series 3 & 4 she was somewhat sensible and Effy was the ruthless drinking druggie but now I feel like the roles have changed and now Effy is the moderately sensible one and Naomi has become the rebel that Effy used to be. Also, what was with the dancing in the club scenes that appeared every now and then? I didn’t get that all.

The new characters that we are introduced seemed okay. I liked Dominic and I also liked the girl who works in the office with Effy. The ‘not-so-battle’ between Effy and her female boss was a little disappointing. Maybe it’s just me and maybe I just like to see people pump and have rival off but all of those scenes weren’t necessary. Effy’s boss (who by the way I felt looked a bit like a older Freddie from series 3 & 4) was an interesting character. The whole affair situation between Effy and her boss was the only thing currently keeping me interested in the episode. Naomi having cancer was very touching. It was a typical Skins story for me and I liked it. The stand up scene for was A+ amazing. Let’s be honest we all knew that stand-up wasn’t something that Naomi could do.

I know and understand that this series/episodes are meant to display the characters growing up and moving on from the previous life but honestly I would have preferred to see that than what I saw tonight. I did like the episode however I found myself being confused and sometimes switching off throughout the episode. Part 2 which continues next week looks like it’s 10x better than Part 1 and I predict that it is going to be good. I give the episode 3 out 5 stars.

3stars

Skins Fire – Part Two continues on the 8th July on E4 at 10pm.

What do you think? Leave a comment at the bottom of the page.

3 comments

  1. I think the club scenes were to show that Effy hasn’t completely let go of who she used to be. I think they were used to show the audience that you can still expect Effy to fuck up badly like she has in the past. This also shows 5 years later so Noami and Effy could have become really close in those 5 years.

  2. During Effy’s last episode toward the end of series 4, Naomi came by the asylum to visit Effy. There seemed to be a closer friendship developing at that time. So it certainly isn’t unbelievable that they could become roommates.
    Overall, it’s an interesting evolution for Skins. Even though it is billed as the final or “farewell” series, I would expect (and hope for) more. Especially if Bryan Elsley and Jamie Brittain stay involved.

  3. well in my opinion maybe effy was trying to get her life together after what has happend to her in her past. Naomi and effy becoming roommates isnt so bad and you know alot can change over the years too..
    just a little thought. . . her boss looked like Freddie if Freddie were to be older lol idk

Leave a Reply

